Fight against moths

I guess everyone with hobby similar to mine will know what cloth moths are. Small devilish creatures! And not only if your passion is to sew, but all people who have cupboards full of clothes, blankets and similar things. Once I saw what these moths are capable of and I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was some time ago when I noticed more and more moths flying around in the room I was renting. I tried do get rid of them in so many ways but they were just coming back over and over again. Then one day, I discovered, that the seat close to a window is actually a chest and when I opened it, I couldn’t believe… There was an old pillow half eaten by the moths. They made a nest in there and there were dozens, if not hundreds of them in there! Despite the aversion I had to get rid of the pillow and spray the chest  with some chemicals which killed them all. After this experience, I said, I never in my life want to see something like that again, so I put in nearly each drawer, cupboard and storage space one thing, moths hate the most. Lavender. Right, there is no need of any chemicals, expensive products which won’t help longterm anyway… Lavender is a flower which smells nice (to me) but stinks terribly to moths. And since I am a creative person, I made these nice heart lavender bags. There are countless possibilities of the design you choose, if it is just simple pocket or anything nicer… you sew you pocket, fill it with batting and then put a smaller pocket with lavender inside. After some time, when you will have the feeling that the lavender doesn’t smell anymore, you just try to crush it little between fingers and it will start to smell and fight the moths again.

Leave a Reply

